Tap to Read ➤

10 Smallest Countries in Africa

Maya Pillai
Africa is the second largest continent with 54 countries within its boundaries.
African continent occupies approximately 20% of the world's land area.
The Mediterranean Sea, Indian Ocean , Atlantic Ocean, Suez Canal and Red Sea surrounds Africa.
Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017
Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017
1. Republic of Seychelles
Seychelles is the smallest African nation which comprises of 115 islands. It is on the coast of East Africa and occupies an area of 451 square km.
Victoria is the capital city. The nation thrives largely on tourism.
Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017
2. São Tomé and Príncipe
An island nation, it is the second smallest country in Africa that is close to the equator.
It is located in Central Africa and has an area of 964 square km. Sao Tome is the capital.
3. Mauritius
Located in the Indian Ocean, it is the third smallest country and occupies an area 2,040 square km. The capital city is Port Louis.
Mauritius is known for its beaches and is a popular tourist destination.
4. Comoros
The nation lies between Madagascar and Mozambique, and is an archipelago in the Indian Ocean. This nation has 3 main islands and numerous smaller islands.
Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017
Moroni is the capital and also the largest city. Comoros occupies an area of 2,235 square km.
5. Cape Verde/Republic of Cabo Verde
It's an archipelago of  10 islands of volcanic origin. It is located in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of West Africa.
Praia is the capital. The island occupies an area of 4,033 square km and is the fifth smallest nation in this Continent.
6. Republic of  Gambia
It is a West African Nation bordering Senegal with a narrow Atlantic Coastline. The capital of this country is Banjul. The largest city here is Serekunda.
7. Kingdom of Eswatini
Previously, it was known as the Swaziland. It is a landlocked South African country that is bordered by Mozambique and South Africa. It has two capitals- Mbabane, Lobamba.
8. Republic of Djibouti
An East African nation, it is located in the Horn of Africa. Somalia, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Red Sea and Gulf of Aden border this small nation.
The low-lying Lake Assal, in the Danakil Desert, is one of the saltiest bodies of water here. Djibouti City is the capital and the largest city.
9. Republic of Rwanda
The nation is landlocked and is located south of the Equator. It is bordered by Uganda, Burundi, Tanzania and Democratic Republic of the Congo.
It has many lakes and is mountainous.
Kigalis is the capital and largest city of Rwanda.
10. Republic of Burundi
Like Rwanda, Burundi is also a landlocked nation bordered by Tanzania, Rwanda and Congo. The capital city is Gitega and the largest city is Bujumbura.