Tap to Read ➤

Must Read: History and Facts About Delaware

Prabhakar Pillai Jul 25, 2020
Delaware is a US state bordered by the states of Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania.
It's capital is Dover. The total population of this state is around 970,000.
Prior to the arrival of Europeans, the region was home to Native American tribes such as the Nanticoke and the Lenni Lenape.
English explorer Henry Hudson discovered the region in 1609.
In 1610, the Delaware River and Bay were named after Virginia's governor - Thomas West, Lord De La Warr. The state got its name from the bay and river.
During the 17th century the Dutch, the Swedish and the English battled for control of the land. In 1674, the region was totally under the control of England.
In 1776, the state declared its independence from the British. It took part in the American Revolution.
In 1787, it became the first US state.
In spite of being a slave state, Delaware fought for the Union in the American Civil War.
Delaware is nicknamed as the 'First State', since it was the first state to sign the U.S Constitution.
The state has the distinction of having the world's biggest population of horseshoe crabs.
Seaford, Delaware is famous as the 'Nylon Capital of the World'.
Delaware belongs to the 'selected club' of the only 5 US states that don't have sales tax.
A native of Delaware, Annie Jump Cannon, classified over 225,000 stars based on their respective temperatures.
In Delaware, the number of registered corporations outnumber the number of residents.
At 450 feet, the state has the lowest mean elevation in the US.
The Bethany Beach firefly, is found only in this small state.
Delaware is the US's second smallest state. Only Rhode Island is smaller.
The state once had the world's highest LEGO tower. Made using over 500,000 LEGO bricks, the tower stood 113 feet tall.
The state has one of the fastest Internet speeds in the US.
In 1776, Caesar Rodney traveled 80 miles to Philadelphia on horseback to cast the deciding vote for the American Independence.
Delaware is also called the 'Diamond State' or the 'Blue Hen State'.